Don’t Assault Your Battery

I admit it.  I’m horribly guilty of battery assault.  In one case, it’s because I don’t really have a choice; in another it’s because I really didn’t know any better.

Thankfully Gizmodo has a very clear and concise article on how to take care of your smartphone battery the right way.  I already do all these things with my iPhone and iPad, but I am forced to leave my phone in my car for 8 hours a day while I’m at work, and in the summer that just kills it.  Often the phone won’t even turn on; I just get a temperature warning screen until I hold it up in front of the a/c for several minutes.  I’ve seriously thought about getting a small Thermos and an icepack for it.

I suppose it’s not all bad; I’m one of the few people I know who can actually change an iThing battery.  I practiced with my old broken first-gen iPhone and my first-gen iTouch (now my son’s) and a bunch of guitar picks my husband didn’t want anymore.  I believe that years of customizing gaming minis helped; you need incredibly fine motor control.

My laptop is another issue.  The battery is easy to change.  That’s not the problem.  The problem is that it’s a hardcore gaming lappie with as much power as my desktop, and I never expected to run it for multi-day stints on battery.  But since I got it 6 months ago the battery life has been getting shorter and shorter.  So I’ve taken to leaving it plugged in all the time…which turns out to make the battery life EVEN SHORTER.  I’m down to less than an hour on battery now, even for low-use tasks like writing.

My iPad, on the other hand, I’ve treated perfectly since I got it a couple years ago (also a first gen), and it batteries like a dream.  Treat your batteries right; you’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

